Dalton Little Theatre is pleased to offer three different theatre scholarships for students residing in Whitfield and Murray Counties. Applicants must be a high school senior or current college student. The J. Forest Ovbey Memorial Scholarship is available for  students who participate in both school and community theatre productions on stage or behind the scenes. The Keith McDearis Musical Theatre Scholarship is for students who participate in musical theatre productions in the community and at school. The final scholarship we offer is the Jimmy Nations Theatre Education Scholarship specifically for students who have been involved in school and community theatre who plan to obtain a teaching degree in elementary or secondary education in language or any of the fine arts.

Please download the scholarship application which includes instructions about the compiling of the theatre resume that will serve as your application packet. Each completed application packet must also include a picture and at least one letter of recommendation by a non-family member.

2019 Dalton Little Theatre Scholarships

The actual scholarship check will be awarded at our annual banquet on the first Friday of August each year. Scholarship recipients will be asked to perform a monologue or song during the banquet.

The award amounts vary each year and range from $250 to $1,000.

Please contact Dalton Little Theatre (706-226-6618 or dlt@optilink.us) if you have any further questions. All application packets MUST be mailed to our P.O. Box by April 23, 2015.


More about the scholarships :

J. Forrest Ovbey Memorial Scholarship is named for Forrest Ovbey who came to Dalton Little Theatre when he was in high school. He loved working backstage, and with the directors, and occasionally would appear onstage, which allowed him to bring out his dramatic side. His time at DLT was short, only a few years, but he made a great impact on all who knew and worked with him.

Keith McDearis Musical Theatre Memorial Scholarship is named for Keith McDearis who was involved in all aspects of Dalton Little Theatre, for more than 25 years, but was passionate about musical theatre. He starred in, directed, and/or was the musical director for numerous productions throughout the years. He also enjoyed sharing his talents with students from the area high schools.Congratulations to our DLT 2012-13 Scholarship Winners.

The Jimmy Nations Theatre Education Memorial Scholarship in memory of longtime DLT supporter and local educator Jimmy Nations.

Congratulations to the 2014 scholarship winners:

  • Sarah Morgan of NW Whitfield High School for the Keith McDearis Musical Scholarship

  • Rachel Kepler of North Murray High School for the Forrest Ovbey Scholarship.

  • (The Jimmy Nations Scholarship was not awarded for the 2013/2014 season.)

Congratulations to the 2013 Scholarship winners!

Congratulations to the 2013 Scholarship winners!

Congratulations to the 2013 winners:

  • Anthony Alt from Northwest High School (J. Forest Ovbey Memorial Scholarship)

  • Savannah Whittenburg from Southeast High School (Inaugural winner of the new Jimmy Nations Theatre Education Memorial Scholarship)

  • Elaine Martinez from Murray County High School (Keith McDearis Musical Theatre Memorial Scholarship).